Progress/roadblocks after 2 weeks of coding

A compulsory post as instructed by the python umbrella. My project involves integrating the astropy.units into sunpy, which also means that I don’t have much to create something new. It involves understanding a module, its relation to other modules, and changing it accordingly with astropy.units. As I have mentioned in the last post, I have completed these three modules.

1) /sunpy/sun/sun.py

2) /sunpy/physics/transforms/differential_rotation.py

3) /sunpy/util/unit_conversion.py

I have also written their tests.

As for the roadblocks, I am facing quite a few now. Probably because I completed the easier part, and now comes the tougher part.

I now have to integrate classes, which are used in various other parts of SunPy. This makes it a little bit more ‘lengthy’ to figure out what changes should be made. I  plan to complete this integration part within the mid term evalution. Even if not, the wcs integration(the second part of my project) will be smaller in scale, so I should be able to make up for it.
As for what is left now is:

1) sunpy/image/coalignment.py

2) sunpy/spectra/spectrogram.py

3) sunpy/spectra/spectrum.py

4) sunpy/map (I will do this at the end)

The biggest problem I face is that I have to read many lines of code, and from where they are imported from, to make out what it is really doing. Rather than building something new, I have to make improvements, which takes a lot of…reading.

 

Leave a comment